Established in 1991, the mission of the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons (AAHKS) is to advance hip and knee patient care through education, advocacy and research.

Board of Directors

Craig J. Della Valle, MD

First Vice President
Michael P. Bolognesi, MD

Second Vice President
C. Lowry Barnes, MD

Third Vice President
Richard Iorio, MD

Immediate Past President
Mark I. Froimson, MD, MBA

Past President
William A. Jiranek, MD, FACS

Gregory G. Polkowski II, MD, MSc

Ryan M. Nunley, MD

James A. Browne, MD
J. Bohannon Mason, MD
R. Michael Meneghini, MD
Mark J. Spangehl, MD

Executive Director
Michael J. Zarski, JD

Councils and Committees

Committee members serve from March to March, typically in two-year terms. A call for Committee applications goes out at the end of each year, and members can apply online.

Council Chairs

Health Policy Council: James I. Huddleston, MD
Education and Communications Council: Bryan D. Springer, MD
Membership Council: Mark J. Spangehl, MD

Committee Chairs (Staff liaisons in parentheses)

Advocacy: James I. Huddleston, MD (Joshua Kerr)
Committee on Committees: Michael P. Bolognesi, MD (Renalin Malvar-Ledda)
Digital Health and Social Media: Stefano A. Bini, MD (Denise Smith Rodd)
Education: Joseph T. Moskal, MD, FACS (Sigita Wolfe)
Evidence-Based Medicine: Matthew S. Austin, MD (Joshua Kerr)
Fellowship Match Oversight: Christopher J. Peters, MD (Sigita Wolfe)
Finance: Ryan M. Nunley, MD (Sharon Creed)
Humanitarian: Harpal S. Khanuja, MD (Chiara Rodgers)
Industry Relations: Jonathan L. Schaffer, MD, MBA (Jeff Mitchell)
International: Rafael J. Sierra, MD (Joshua Kerr)
Leadership Development: Jay R. Lieberman, MD (Eileen Lusk)
Member Outreach: Scott M. Sporer, MD (Eileen Lusk)
Nominating: Mark I. Froimson, MD, MBA (Renalin Malvar-Ledda)
Patient and Public Relations: Brett R. Levine, MD, MS (Denise Smith Rodd)
Practice Management: Louis S. Stryker, MD (Joshua Kerr)
Program: Matthew P. Abdel, MD (Sigita Wolfe)
Publications: Samuel S. Wellman, MD (Denise Smith Rodd)
Quality Measures: William G. Hamilton, MD (Joshua Kerr)
Research: Javad Parvizi, MD, FRCS (Chiara Rodgers)
Women in Arthroplasty: Audrey K. Tsao, MD (Eileen Lusk)
Young Arthroplasty Group: Bradford S. Waddell, MD (Joshua Kerr)


AAHKS Staff members serve as the administrative core of the association located in the Orthopaedic Headquarters in Rosemont, Illinois, USA. View list.


News releases, weekly news blog, online press kit, media request instructions and the advertising rate card are in the AAHKS Newsroom.

Strategic Plan

The Strategic Plan is updated every three years by the Board of Directors to guide the association and the profession.


The AAHKS Bylaws detail the association’s purpose, membership descriptions, board structure and duties, committee and meeting structure and rules. Download the bylaws.