American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons

Advocacy, Education, Research

Learn About AAHKS

Established in 1991, the mission of the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons (AAHKS) is to advance hip and knee patient care through education and advocacy.

The AAHKS Annual Meeting provides an opportunity for members of the profession to come together and educate each other on the best practices in arthroplasty. The agenda addresses a broad array of scientific topics such as implant design, outcomes, surgical techniques and complications of primary and revision total joint arthroplasty (TJA). The latest information available on socioeconomic issues affecting our specialty is another highlight of the meeting.

Resource Guide

» View the 2018 Member Resource Guide with information about leadership, past presidents, measurement sets, upcoming events and more.


» The AAHKS staff members are available to assist you.


» The AAHKS Bylaws detail the purpose, membership descriptions, board structure and duties, committees and meetings.

Strategic Plan

» The AAHKS Strategic Plan AAHKS Strategic Plan guides the association and the profession.

Executive Board

Craig J. Della Valle, MD

First Vice President
Michael P. Bolognesi, MD

Second Vice President
C. Lowry Barnes, MD

Third Vice President
Richard Iorio, MD

Immediate Past President
Mark I. Froimson, MD, MBA

Past President
William A. Jiranek, MD, FACS

Gregory G. Polkowski II, MD, MSc

Ryan M. Nunley, MD


James A. Browne, MD
J. Bohannon Mason, MD
R. Michael Meneghini, MD
Mark J. Spangehl, MD

Executive Director

Michael J. Zarski, JD

Councils and Committees

Committee members serve from March to March, typically in two-year terms. A call for Committee applications goes out in January of each year, and members can apply online. Get details about the AAHKS Councils and Committees, their charges, structure and terms.

Council Chairs

Health Policy Council: James I. Huddleston, MD
Education and Communications Council: Bryan D. Springer, MD
Membership Council: TBA

Committee Chairs (Staff liaisons in parentheses)

Advocacy: James I. Huddleston, MD (Joshua Kerr)
Committee on Committees: Michael P. Bolognesi, MD (Renalin Malvar-Ledda)
Digital Health and Social Media: Stefano A. Bini, MD (Denise Smith Rodd)
Education: Joseph T. Moskal, MD, FACS (Sigita Wolfe)
Evidence-Based Medicine: Matthew S. Austin, MD (Joshua Kerr)
Fellowship Match Oversight: Christopher J. Peters, MD (Sigita Wolfe)
Finance: Ryan M. Nunley, MD (Sharon Creed)
Humanitarian: Harpal S. Khanuja, MD (Chiara Rodgers)
Industry Relations: Jonathan L. Schaffer, MD, MBA (Jeff Mitchell)
International: Rafael J. Sierra, MD (Joshua Kerr)
Leadership Development: Jay R. Lieberman, MD (Eileen Lusk)
Membership Outreach: Scott M. Sporer, MD (Eileen Lusk)
Nominating: Mark I. Froimson, MD, MBA (Renalin Malvar-Ledda)
Patient and Public Relations: Brett R. Levine, MD, MS (Denise Smith Rodd)
Practice Management: Louis S. Stryker, MD (Joshua Kerr)
Program: Matthew P. Abdel, MD (Sigita Wolfe)
Publications: Samuel S. Wellman, MD (Denise Smith Rodd)
Quality Measures: William G. Hamilton, MD (Joshua Kerr)
Research: Javad Parvizi, MD, FRCS (Chiara Rodgers)