In addition to the winning research, three individuals received awards for their leadership, advocacy and excellence: 

  • The inaugural AAHKS Diversity Award was presented to Richard E. Grant, MD, a retired orthopaedic surgeon known for his outreach to underserved community members and mentorship of minority residents. He served on the AAOS Diversity Advisory Board and was the first African-American president of the ABOS. 


  • The AAHKS Women in Arthroplasty Empowerment Award was given to Amy Turk, Director of Strategy and Innovation, Global Growth Hip Marketing for Johnson & Johnson, in recognition of her work with Women of Orthopaedics and advocacy for women in arthroplasty.  


  • The AAHKS Presidential Award was presented to William G. Hamilton, MD, for his efforts to create FOCAL (Fellows Orthopaedic Continued AAHKS Learning), an initiative to provide ongoing educational opportunities virtually for fellows during the COVID pandemic.  
Close Bitnami banner